PREVIEW: 2017 Butcher Medal

Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 11:38 AM

The 2017 Butcher Medal will be held on Friday night in the Club's Main Hall.

After a disappointing season results wise for the Demons, many players enjoyed strong campaigns on an individual level and Friday night's Butcher Medal is about recognising those individuals.

Michael Sinclair won the prestigious award as a 22-year-old last year. Will he go back to back? Or will Clint Jones, the oldest player at the Club, claim it in his first year as captain. Will one of the up and coming youngsters in Corey Byrne or Cody Ninyette cap off their promising years with a Butcher Medal? Or will an outsider sneak up on the pack and snatch it... 


Clint Jones
In his first year as captain, Jones led from the front playing in all 20 games with an average of 33 disposals and five tackles. He was selected in the 2017 WA State Squad, opting against it to manage his body. Jones is expected to poll heavily in the back half of the season and will be sure to pick up votes in round six where he picked up 53 disposals against East Perth.

Michael Sinclair
The reigning Butcher Medallist had an injury interrupted start to 2017, injuring his achilles in the Club's round one loss to Swan Districts. He missed the following three games, as well as the Demons' round 22 win over East Perth. From his 16 games, Sinclair averaged just under 25 disposals and almost 7 marks a game playing across half back. His first half of the season should hold him in good stead.

Cody Ninyette
After making his debut in round 20 last year, the livewire small forward burst onto the scene in 2017 playing 18 games and kicking a Club high 28 goals. The 19-year-old kicked a bag of three goals, two bags of four and who could forget his bag of seven in the Demons' round 22 win over East Perth. A roughie - keep an eye on him.

Corey Byrne
In the exact same fashion as Ninyette, Byrne debuted in round 20 last year and burst onto the scene this year as an integral part of the Demons' midfield. It was a year of 20's for Byrne- who turned 20 in May, played all 20 games averaging 20 disposals. He had a very consistent year and should poll well throughout.

Clayton Giblett
In his first year at the Demons after coming across from East Perth, the 21-year-old was thrown in the deep end this season and thrived. In a size and height depleted backline, Giblett was often handed the challenge of playing on the opposition's best key forward. He'll be sure to gather votes for playing a selfless role and competing strongly each week.

Aidan Tropiano
The 2015 Butcher Medallist averaged just over 22 disposals from all 20 games this year. He also laid an average of just under 8 tackles per game. Although 2017 wasn't as the heights of Tropiano's Sandover Medal winning 2015, the inside midfielder traditionally polls well in fairest and best counts and is another one to keep an eye on this Friday night.

Christian Eyres
With fellow 2016 ruckman Angus Graham heading home to Victoria prior to the start of the 2017 season, Eyres was Perth's primary ruckman all year and had little support. The 26-year-old took the lone-ruckman challenge with both hands, averaging 32 hitouts from 19 games. He's expected to poll well early after a strong start to the season, and steadily for the remainder.

Roughies include Brant Colledge, who had an injury interrupted 2017 but performed strongly in the 14 games he played, and Mitchell Henderson who debuted in round six and never looked back, playing a key defensive role in the League side's midfield for the remainder of the season.

Other awards up for grabs on Friday night include:
League Runner Up, League Third Place, Redlegs 1% Award (courage and sacrifice), Doug Buckingham Memorial Trophy (most outstanding young talent), Vince Pendal Award (best Clubman), Ron Tucker Memorial Trophy (League leading goalkicker), Jack O'Dea Memorial Trophy (best club person), Greg Brehaut Medal (Development F&B), Development Runner Up, Development Coaches Award and Development Redlegs 1% Award. 

The Colts award winners, including the Jack Ensor Medallist and runner up, will also be presented with their awards.